chalkboard paint calendar

Chalkboard_hooks

You know those defining moments? This actually wasn’t one of those.  But, it was a project that I didn’t screw up.  And, it was a great way to quickly and easily make a removable wall chalkboard calendar.

I was looking for a way to add a calendar to the mud room/laundry room so that the kids could have an idea of what was happening and when.  I used this tutorial: http://www.marthastewart.com/268187/chalkboard-wall-calendar.

Kevin brought home some sort of board. Yes, my memory is that bad. It was light, thin and smooth. I’ll ask him later. I didn’t paint straight on the wall for 2 reasons: 1) I wanted to be able to move it and, 2) Our walls are textured and I figured the taped lines would be a mess.

I didn’t follow the tutorial exactly as instructed. It calls for 4 different color squares – I only used 2. I painted the whole board with black chalkboard paint, then I measured and taped off squares (had to tape twice) and added a little light blue regular latex paint to the chalkboard paint to make it a little bit grayer. I didn’t have any other chalkboard paint, so I improvised. Voila!

This project took 3 hours from start to finish (including drying time and interruptions from the little ones). Kevin then took a piece of wood and added hooks (making sure to attach it with drywall screws into the studs so that it would be able to handle heavy backpacks). I’ve since discovered chalk pens. I could write with those things all day long.

I’ve also decided I should have painted the laundry room before this went up. I’ll get to it someday.

One response to “chalkboard paint calendar

Leave a Reply

