apropos of nothing

There’s something about a list that makes my heart sing. Thanks to Becky over at Chicken Wire and Paper Flowers for this great set of questions:

1. The one book you read over and over again.
Over the course of my lifetime? The Devil’s Arithmetic by Jane Yolen. It’s a young adult book in which a current-day, 12-year-old Jewish girl travels back in time to Poland where villagers are starting to get “resettled” and she is the only one who knows what’s really happening. I’m looking forward to my 9-year-old reading it in a few years. Thanks to my mom, I still have my copy.

More recently, I’ve read Defending Jacob by William Landay a couple of times this year. It was a fun one for book club.

2. Meal planner or just open the fridge and see what you have and throw it together kind of cook?
I want to be a meal planner. I keep trying. No, really, I do. I’m more of a let’s-go-out type of cook because what I throw together is usually either uninspired or inedible. I don’t know that I can even be called a “cook” – more like “under-qualified meal assembler.”

3. Favorite curse word.
I find “Curses!” (accompanied by fist-shaking aimed at the sky) works in most situations. It’s an all-encompassing word that can be said guilt-free around young children. However, I forget to say it when I’ve dropped an iPhone in the toilet. My instinctive curses are much more banal.

4. Which is the better album – Dark Side of the Moon or The Wall?
The Wall by a landslide. Instrumentally, it’s way more interesting. It also asks the age-old question “how can you have any pudding if you don’t eat yer meat?”

5. In the movie of your life, who would play you?
Cybill Shepherd, 20 years ago. A movie about me and time travel seem equally likely.

6. Best decision you ever made?
Marrying my husband, followed closely by moving to Colorado. Feels very sappy to say – but totally true.

7. What’s your guilty pleasure?
Valet parking, catering, maid service, mani/pedis, babysitters, and once, that luggage guy at a fancy hotel. I feel guilty for enjoying anything that involves paying someone to do something that I’m capable of – with one exception: our lawn mowing service. He’s a great guy and his first name is Hai. It’s hard to feel guilty when I’m saying “Hi, hai!” That’s pure fun. Bonus: I’m not mowing our lawn. Also fun.

8. How did you meet your significant other?
Ahhhhh, a favorite story. Kevin and I met in a very ‘7 brides for 7 brothers’ way. I moved in with 2 women after answering a Washington Post roommate-wanted ad. One woman was dating his step-brother, and the other one soon started dating his other step-brother. I met him and was totally smitten. So, the 3 roommates married the 3 brothers. Not in any sort of joint ceremony or anything strange like that. Although, in retrospect…that would have been a very efficient pooling of resources.

Kevin and I also went to the same highschool. We were a few years apart but our siblings were in the same graduating class, so we’ve unknowingly crossed paths at other times in our lives.

9. Coffee, tea or soda in the morning?
Coffee, lukewarm with cream.

10. Favorite noodle type.
Spaghetti squash.

11. Why did you start blogging to begin with?
I’ve always been a writer and was contemplating writing a book. A blog seemed like an easy way to get back into writing with more regularity and was less stressful than attempting to put a book together. I still play with the idea from time to time, but most of my creative writing turns into smut. Perhaps I need to shift into the romance genre – then I can focus my energy into coming up with better, more creative terms for genitalia.

One response to “apropos of nothing

Leave a Reply

