The real reason starting a paleo diet is expensive

20140326-211551.jpg

In our house, it’s not the cost of the grassfed meat or organic produce that break the budget (although ouch!), it’s the wasted food, time, and energy. Here’s how:

1. New stuff no one likes.

I’m trying to buy products that make it easier but no one likes them. Prime example: Apple Chips. They seemed like such a good idea. Same with the purple cauliflower “mashed potatoes.”

2. Rot.

Trying to avoid the daily grocery shopping, I buy so much produce that it’s hard to use it all. It’s embarrassing.

3. Meal fail. Double effort, double meals.

I stray from the oft-requested butter noodles and make new dishes that no one likes. Recently, I made pork tacos that were unanimously rejected and guiltily followed by traditional beef tacos. That’s a lot of effort for freakin’ tacos. Le Sigh.

4. Good intentions, poor follow through.

This should be my nickname, although it’s kind of wordy. Let’s say I optimistically make a plan for 3 dinners and shop for them. Lazy hits and I only make 2 dishes. That weird 2.99 jicama I bought? Not getting used.

I’m assuming that these are growing pains and we will get better. If I’m wrong, don’t tell me.;

Leave a Reply

